Vote for your favourite
'Inn Way' route

Select an 'Inn Way' title

The Inn Way... to the English Lake District

90 miles, 7 days, 44 pubs...

Mark Reid's 'The Inn the English Lake District' takes the reader on a 90-mile circular journey through the most beautiful corners of the Lake District calling at 44 traditional Lakeland inns along the way. From Ambleside, the route heads west over the Borrowdale fells then turns south through the mountains and valleys of western Lakeland, perhaps the most dramatic, inspiring and remote landscape in England – the finale is the summit of Swirl How on the last day.


The Inn Way to the English Lake DistrictGuidebook

'The Inn the English Lake District' by Mark Reid

ISBN: 978-1-902001-18-0, paperback, 232pp

RRP £10:95

This guidebook was first published in 1998. Last re-print May 2011 (2nd Edition).

Buy the book



Map of Lake District Walking RouteWhere does the route go?

Start / Finish: Ambleside

Stage One:
Ambleside to Rosthwaite (13 miles)

Stage Two:
Rosthwaite to Braithwaite (12 miles)

Stage Three:
Braithwaite to Buttermere (11 miles)

Stage Four:
Buttermere to Boot (12 miles)

Stage Five:
Boot to Broughton-in-Furness (14 miles)

Stage Six:
Broughton-in-Furness to Coniston (13 miles)

Stage Seven:
Coniston to Ambleside (15 miles)



90 miles (145km).


How many days will it take to walk?

The Inn the English Lake District is a long distance circular walk, divided into seven 'day stages' ranging from 11 to 15 miles.


How many pubs will I pass along the way?

There are 44 pubs along 'The Inn Way'. Each 'day stage' is designed to include a pub at lunchtime and the Overnight Stops offer a choice of pubs and facilities.


Which Ordnance Survey Maps cover the route?

OS Explorer map OL4 'The English Lakes, North Western area'
OS Explorer map OL6 'The English Lakes, South Western area'
OS Explorer map OL7 'The English Lakes, South Eastern area'

The Inn Way - By Mark Reid Carbon Footprint
Walking with Elvis