Vote for your favourite
'Inn Way' route

Select an 'Inn Way' title

The Inn Way... to the Yorkshire Dales

76 miles, 6 days, 26 pubs…

Mark Reid’s highly acclaimed guidebook – The Inn Way…to the Yorkshire Dales – charts a 76-mile circular route throughout the heart of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. The walk is divided into six stages and passes 26 traditional Dales inns.


The Inn Way to The Yorkshire Dales walking book coverGuidebook

‘The Inn Way…to the Yorkshire Dales’ by Mark Reid

ISBN: 978-1-902001-16-6, Paperback, 186pp

This guidebook was first published in 1997. Last re-print June 2010 (4th Edition).




Map of the walking route for The Inn Way to the Yorkshire Dales

Where does the route go?

Start / Finish: Grassington, Wharfedale

Stage One:
Grassington to Buckden (13 miles)
Stage Two:
Buckden to Askrigg (13 miles)
Stage Three:
Askrigg to Reeth (13 miles)
Stage Four:
Reeth to West Burton (11 miles)
Stage Five:
West Burton to Kettlewell (14 miles)
Stage Six:
Kettlewell to Grassington (12 miles)



76 miles (122km).


How many days will it take to walk?

The Inn the Yorkshire Dales is a long distance circular walk, divided into six 'day stages' ranging from 11 to 14 miles.


How many pubs will I pass along the way?

There are 26 pubs along 'The Inn Way'. Each 'day stage' is designed to include a pub at lunchtime and the Overnight Stops offer a choice of pubs and facilities.


Which Ordnance Survey Maps cover the route?

OS Explorer map OL2 'Yorkshire Dales Southern & Western Areas'
OS Explorer map OL30 'Yorkshire Dales Northern & Central Areas'

The Inn Way - By Mark Reid Carbon Footprint
Walking with Elvis