Vote for your favourite
'Inn Way' route

Select an 'Inn Way' title

The Inn Way... to the Peak District

84 miles, 6 days, 51 pubs...

Mark Reid charts a circular route through the heart of the Peak District from the wilds of Kinder Scout to the beautiful limestone valleys of the 'White Peak'. This 84 mile walk is divided into six 'day stages' and passes 51 pubs along the way.

The Inn Way to the Peak DistrictGuidebook

'The Inn the Peak District' by Mark Reid

ISBN: 978-1-902001-19-7, Paperback, 232pp,

RRP £10:95

This guidebook was first published in June 2007. Last re-print September 2012 (2nd Edition).

Buy the book



Map of walking route in the Peak DistrictWhere does the route go?

Start/finish: Hayfield

Stage One:
Hayfield to Hathersage (17.5 miles)
Stage Two:
Hathersage to Baslow (13 miles)

Stage Three:
Baslow to Youlgrave
(12 miles)
Stage Four:
Youlgrave to Tideswell
(16 miles)
Stage Five:
Tideswell to Castleton
(14 miles)
Stage Six:
Castleton to Hayfield (11.5 miles)



84 miles (135 km).

How many days will it take to walk?

The Inn the Peak District is a long distance circular walk, divided into six 'day stages' ranging from 11.5 to 17.5 miles.


How many pubs will I pass along the way?

There are 51 pubs along 'The Inn Way'. Each 'day stage' is designed to include a pub at lunchtime and the Overnight Stops offer a choice of pubs and facilities.


Which Ordnance Survey Maps cover the route?

OS Explorer map OL1 'Peak District: Dark Peak'
OS Explorer map OL24 'Peak District: White Peak'

The Inn Way - By Mark Reid Carbon Footprint
Walking with Elvis